













CALL FOR PAPERS

SPeCTReSS - Social Performances of Cultural Trauma and the Rebuilding of Solid Sovereignties

&

XII Symposium of Irish Studies in South America

22-25 August 2017

"Rethinking Cultural Trauma from Transnational Perspectives"

The aim of the Conference is to gather SPeCTReSS researchers to discuss the results of the three-year international joint-research project developed by nine universities: Trinity College Dublin (Ireland), Rurh-Universität, Bochum (Germany), Jagiellonian University (Poland), University of Tartu (Estonia), Zagreb University (Croatia), Jawaharlal Nehru University (India), University of São Paulo (Brazil), Yale University (United States) and University of Tokyo (Japan). Delegates of the annual ABEI symposium of Irish Studies in South America and researchers of the WB Yeats Chair of Irish Studies will also join the event hosted by the University of São Paulo.

The main theme follows previous encounters of the SPeCTReSS research group led by Trinity College Dublin, the yearly discussions at the Summer Institute of Cultural Trauma organized by Zagreb University, as well as the regular meetings of the University of São Paulo research group with SPeCTReSS incoming secondees.-

Considering that the concept of cultural trauma is a theoretical construct that allows us to set up borders around an occurrence that reaches back into the past and forward into the future, the multicultural discursive responses which disclose the processes of meaning making and attribution will be focused within the social fabric of the contemporary transcultural global space.

"Rethinking cultural trauma from transnational perspectives" tackles the shared experiences of social transformations and the double bound effects that a devastating idea could positively construct a communal way of life. Departing from Piotr Sztompka's traumatic sequence (2004: 168-9), the post-traumatic adaptations and the overcoming of trauma will be discussed in dialogue with the sudden, comprehensive, deep and unexpected social changes, the structural disorganization of cultures, the traumatizing events that resulted from social changes and the traumatic condition expressed by a set of traumatic symptoms (mental or behavioural).

The history of nations has been marked by traumatizing events such as revolutions, market collapses, lost wars, fall of empires, radical economic reforms, unemployment, forced migrations, genocides, terrorism and famines. Lectures, round tables, and panels led by SPeCTReSS researchers will bring up to light the results of their studies on the role of collective memory in the process of narrating post-traumatic actions and of constructing new national identities across different systems and forms of experiencing cultural trauma.

The sections will be organized around the five main topics of the project, which will motivate other scholars to present their own research in dialogue with them:

- Historical continuities and discontinuities after cultural trauma (colonialism, imperialism, dictatorships; new sovereignties).
- Fractured unities: the national and the global; the diasporic and the individual; the internal and external forces of refugees and (im)migrants.
- Writing and performing the nation (strategies and acts of resistance or recreation of certain local or global patterns of representation or of performing arts; canonical frameworks; the role of the artist).
- The presence of trauma in cultural institutions and society (museums, archives, textbooks).
- Narratives of trauma and discourses of the nation (particular tropes, language issues, genres, etc).

Keynote speakers:

Bodh Prakash (Ambedkar University, Delhi)

Cahal McLaughlin (Queen's University Belfast)

Ene Koresaar (Tartu University)

Eunan O'Halpin (Trinity College Dublin)

Jan Sowa (Warsaw University)

Jane Ohlmeyer (Trinity College Dublin)

Jennifer Edmond (Trinity College Dublin)

Juergen Barkhof (Trinity College Dublin)

Malgorzata Sugiera (Jagellonian University)

Melania Terrazas (University of La Rioja, Spain & AEDEI - Spanish Association of Irish Studies)

Nebosja Blanusa (Zagreb University)

Saugata Bhaduri (Jawaharlal Nehru University)

Sean Homer (American University, Bulgaria)

Sarah Durcan (Science Gallery, Ireland)

Sucheta Mahajan (Jawaharlal Nehru University)

Tomasz Bilczewski (Jagellonian University, Poland)

Guideline for abstracts

Abstracts should not exceed 250 words; Times New Roman font, 12 pts;

The official language of the event for plenary sessions is English.

Papers should be primarily in English. Proposals in Spanish and Portuguese might have also a title in English. In this case, delegates should distribute a handout

containing an extended summary, or show a powerpoint, in the official language of the Conference.

Delegates should be PhDs, MAs or Doctoral Students. Master Students or Undergraduates may propose posters. Papers and posters will be selected by the Scientific Committees.

Abstracts and poster proposals should be sent via email

to: abei.abeibrasil@gmail.com

Deadline: 10 May, 2017

To learn about accommodation options in São Paulo, click here.

Fees

- Delegates presenting papers: R\$ 260 (R\$100 ABEI membership + R\$160 fee) Non-Brazilian delegates: 100 Euros or USD
- M.A and Ph.D Students: R\$ 200 (R\$ 100 ABEI membership + R\$ 100 fee) Non-Brazilian MA or PhD Students: 70 Euros or USD
- Undergraduate students presenting posters: R\$ 130 (R\$100 ABEI membership + R\$ 30 fee)

Non-Brazilian Undergraduate students: 50 Euros or USD

- Attendants with certificate: R\$ 30 fee

Payment

Exhibitors or foreign delegates should pay the full fee on cash on the opening day of the Symposium. Bank transfers or deposits: **only for Brazilian residents.**

Associação Brasileira de Estudos Irlandeses

CPNJ/MF n. 61.368.742/0001-69

Banco Santander Bank Branch: 0658

Current Account: 13.006.744-6

Payment receipts should be sent to: tesouraria.abei@gmail.com

Academic Committees

- **SPeCTReSS:** Jaime Ginzburg, Jane Ohlmeyer, Jennifer Edmond, Laura P.Z. Izarra, Luiz Fernando Ramos, Munira H. Mutran, Sergio Adorno, Vitor Blotta.
- **ABEI:** Rosalie Rahal Haddad, Adriana Capuchinho, Gisele Wolkoff, Luci Collin, Mariana Bolfarine, Maria Rita Drumond Viana, Rejane Ferreira, Viviane Carvalho da Annunciação.

Local Organizing Committee

Alessandra Rigonato, Caroline Moreira Eufrausino, Camila Franco Batista, Edna Nagayama, Jaime Ginzburg, Laura P.Z. de Izarra, Luiz Fernando Ramos, Munira H.

Mutran, Mariana Bolfarine, Patricia de Aquino Prudente, Rosalie Rahal Haddad, Tais Leite de Moura, Victor Pacheco, Vitor Blotta.

General Organization (USP):

Laura Patricia Zuntini de Izarra, Jaime Ginzburg, Luiz Fernando Ramos

.